Keeping Busy

Although I’m taking the first summer session off from classes I’m by no means lacking in things to do.

Tuesday after I met with Dr. J I attended a pre-trip orientation for ALA that some of the scholarship coordinators put together. It was a chance to get more information on how the trip was going to go about as well as discuss what all would be expected from us during the trip. I have to say I was a bit apprehensive after the orientation because there was a big focus on constantly being watched and networking. I’m not use to that kind of pressure and I wasn’t sure I would be able to do that.

I was also afraid that I wouldn’t get the chance to enjoy being in Washington or experience the conference because I would be to occupied being apprehensive about networking.

Luckily I was scheduled to do a tour of Jackson Library the next day and I was able to sit down and talk to one of the librarians who had sat in on the orientation. She calmed a lot of my concerns. And I feel a lot better about networking while at the conference and creating a schedule that will allow me to have a great experience in Washington and the conference.

Leave a Reply

