One Week Left of Summer Vacation

Today starts the last week of summer vacation. And I only wish I had spent the last couple of months camped out on such a beach.

I’ve always been one of those people who looked forward to the first day of school. The chance to start anew, learning new things and meeting new people. It’s like starting all over with a clean slate. But at the same time it’s marking yet another year I’ve lived.

This year however is different, I approach the new school year bittersweet. The marking of a year since my dad’s passing weighs heavily on my heart. The changes I’ve gone through not just this summer, but the whole year has changed me and the way I see the world.

The last few days I’ve been thinking about what my five year plan is and it amazes me, I’m such a planner but I think I’ve been moving through the last few years without a plan. It’s time for that to end. Just over five months and I’ll be 26 and there’s so much I want to do in my life. If I’ve learned anything from losing my dad at a relatively young age is that it’s never to earlier to start experiencing life. And not to wait to tick off those to-do items.

One of the major positives of moving back home with my mom is the reduce in rent and the ability to put a lot more money aside. I haven’t been able to do any kind of savings because it just felt like I was always playing catch up this last semester. And whenever the “I’m 25 living with my mom” voice comes whispering I remind myself of that fact.

One of the various blogs I read the writer created a 30 before 30 list and has been steadily marking off the items before their 30th birthday in a couple of months. I do believe that might be a great start in creating my five year plan. Wish me luck.

2 thoughts on “One Week Left of Summer Vacation

  1. I’m glad to hear from you! I’ve been too overwhelmed to keep up with my RSS feed so I haven’t had a chance to read your blog entries as of late. Actually, right now I’m pretty excited that I noticed on your blogroll that there is an ACE Scholars blog that I can link to from the new LIS website!

    I can’t imagine how you’re feeling about the anniversary of your dad’s (and then too soon after that, your grandma’s) death. I know that you’ve been strong this past year and are continuing to make them proud. Moving back home probably made the little squeak of “but I should be independent at 25!” loud in your ears, but I am jealous since I have no home to return to.

    Actually, that last bit is why I’m feeling absolutely driven to get it together this year. I have to put in twice as much work as anyone else so I can graduate with a job ready to take me away. I’m absolutely terrified of what happens if this isn’t so. Most of the recent grads that I know of are married so while they’re job hunting, they have spouses to take care of them.

    Where is this person’s 30 things before 30 years old blog entry at? Thomas will be thirty next summer so turning 30/getting older has really been on my mind a lot too. In many ways, I’m really weirded out that I am as old as I am!

  2. Completely understandable, I think a lot of people got swamped this summer. I hope the ACE blog will be updated a bit more in the coming semester.

    Being surrounded by family helps, and I’m really lucky to be so close to family that welcomed me back. I hope you get the roommate thing situated soon.

    I completely feel where you are coming from. I’m terrified that I won’t have any prospects come May and I’m working hard with Julie to make sure I’m in a good spot when it comes to finding a job. Honestly she’s such an awesome person and calms my fears a lot.

    Here’s the link to the list I was talking about: http://makingitlovely.com/2010/03/01/30-before-thirty/

    I just had a friend turn 28 and that got me to thinking about the big 30. I’m almost done with my list though.

Leave a Reply

