Book Review 005

Book: Storm Front

Author: Jim Butcher

Summary: Storm Front is the first book in Jim Butcher’s series entitled The Dresden Files, we meet Harry Blackstone Copperfield Dresden a private detective by trade, a wizard by birth. Dresden is the typical hard-boil private detective who isn’t afraid to show a softer side every now and then. Just when Harry is wondering where this month’s rent will come from his contact at the local prescient calls on him to come down and offer his opinion on a grisly double murder. He accepts unknowing that this will lead him down a twisted rabbit hole that he might not survive to find his way back.
Harry comes in contact with some interesting characters during his race to save his life and ultimately the world from an entity that can literally rip the heart out of it’s victim without being anywhere in the vicinity.

My thoughts: This is the first book I’ve read that was written by a man, that was meant for adults, I have read male writers but mostly in the young adult section (i.e. Artemis Fowl). It took some getting use to because of this fact, I think it’s true what they say men and women write differently and the things they chose to pay attention to are vastly different. As a female writer I caught myself pointing out parts where I felt he could have gone in a different path and parts where I went “Why are there three pages covering this topic?”

But once I moved on from that I did notice that Butcher does a great job creating the character Harry Dresden and making me care what happens to him not just at the end of this book but to go out and read book two. One of the things I didn’t like about old-school detective stories and shows was because the main character freaked out when any kind of emotion was shown, let’s get real most men aren’t like that. They can and do show emotion, yes okay maybe they won’t spend a chapter bemoaning the lost of pet but a paragraph, a page or two wouldn’t hurt. But on the flip side I don’t want the guy to be whining over ever single mishap, I don’t a woman who does that either. There were so memorable characters mainly Harry and Toot-toot, well actually those were the two memorable characters. I simply love the interaction between the two of them. I hope he shows up again. In the end I did feel the book was lacking in some sections and the story felt a bit stale and at some parts forced. But Butcher does have a way with words, his take on what is essential a crime novel is brilliantly refreshing and I would recommend this to any fan of crime/fantasy/male-orientated novels. It was great to see a wizard that wasn’t a pre-teen or a dithering old man.

Leave a Reply

