75% Completed

That’s a strange thought to have. I’m officially 75% done in earning my Master’s degree. Three semesters down one more to go! It’s almost 2 in the morning as I write this I couldn’t be any more exhausted but at the same time I’m so wired that I just had to sit down and update this blog. Seeing as how the last time I updated was over a month ago I thought it was past due.

Final Projects and Papers

My poster for the poster presentations.

I ended my semester with a flurry of papers and projects. In Archives I settled on Ethnic Archives as my research topic. Surprisingly it turned out completely different from what I thought and I realized three pages in I had opened the proverbial can of worms. The topic was more complicated than I could ever imagine. But in the end it all worked out.  In Digital Libraries I was able to scan and upload the covers of 20 individual Green Lantern comic book covers. Since the files were so large I uploaded and placed them in a website I built. You can view them all here. My independent studies course ended with a huge reflection paper. I was amazed at how much I was able to correlate to other things I had learned about American libraries to those around the world. And it was interesting to see how wrong I was on what the differences would be.

Winter Break

Now that I’m done I can breathe again. I still have to finish that summer course work but I’m 90% done with that. I just have to complete two tasks and get others to do a user accessibility tests and I’m done.  If you remember my post about the woes dreamweaver was giving me I can safely say I’ve managed to conquer dreamweaver with the help of my professor and I feel confident to consider myself an intermediate dreamweaver-er. Check out what I have so far. Keep in mind there’s no content as per the assignment. Maybe one day I’ll actually get around to adding content.

I’m really glad that I’m entering this winter break with a better mind frame than last year. I was quite bogged down with worry over the issues I was having with financial aid, this semester I have to really give it to the scholarship board there was an obvious effort to open up the communication roadways and it’s made it easier to understand what’s happening at every step. Which means less worry for me.

Now I can focus on completing the long winter break to-do list I’ve created. Maybe I’ll share that with you guys later. But for now I’m going to catch up on my DVR shows and try to get some sleep, wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

