Day Four of 2010 Winter Break

Enormous snowball made in South Park in a snow...

Image via Wikipedia

Day 4, was spent between the computer and the couch, catching up on DVRed shows. Why? Because my mom and brother were out on a snow day…except the snow had melted and turned to ice by time everyone woke up. However the school system here doesn’t mess around when it comes to snow days. There use to be a time when they waited to last-minute to call for a snow day, or a delay. But during my junior year of highschool (if I remember correctly) a girl died in a car cash because the roads she needed to take weren’t major roads so they hadn’t been cleared all the way. From that time on if the weather person says snow expected tomorrow, usually by the night before they’ve made a decision.

So a frigid day called for staying warm in the house with the family, especially when there was no snow to have fun with like in the picture above. I did manage to check two more things off my winter break to do list. The first one being completing the ACE Scholars Internship Report Form. Doing that form kind of hit home with how much I accomplished during my internship, especially since I wasn’t sure what to expect. Then I went about completing an interview for the UNCG LIS department website. It’s something she asked me for a couple of months ago, so I’m not sure she (the web-mistress) will still use it but I’ll let you know if she does.

Now I’m going to continue looking for more places to send my resume to. I got my first rejection letter yesterday. I wasn’t as disappointed as I thought I would be. It was for a position I wasn’t sure I met all the qualifications to the degree that they wanted so I knew it was a stretch. But the blow was also softened by the two notices I got that informed me that I had basically made it past the first level of applications. They are two positions that make me go “OMG that would be awesome to do.” But I’m not going to put all my eggs in one basket.

Anyone have some job searching tips they would like to share?

Leave a Reply

