Practicum Day Six: APA Quick Guide and English Sources

One of the best things I love about the practicum is that built-in to the structure of a practicum is the work done has to have practical purposes. One of the my practical jobs is redoing some of the webpages on the library website and turning the information into LibGuides. LibGuides is a web 2.0 application put out by Springshare. It’s a great tool that a lot of reference departments are using. So I’m beyond excited that I get to gain first hand experience with it. One of the major LibGuide I am working on is one for their APA Style Citation Guide. The reason why it’s so big is because not only do I have to create my own examples of the rule I’m creating a quick guide that students can print off for their own personal use.

If you know anything about APA style you know that it’s more of writing style. And if you’ve read the manual you know it’s not a straight forward kind of book. By the time I’m finished with this I shall be able to cite almost anything in APA style…well until they update the rules.

The recent librarian on my personal meeting schedule was the Humanities Librarian. Her background was in English so one of her favorite aspects of her job is the collection development. Which I can’t really blame her. Because of the alerts she gets from publishers and the publications she read she’s able to stay abreast of growing trends in an area she loved. We also talked about those times when a professor or a patron doesn’t agree with your purchases or when you have to deny them an item. Which got me to thinking about how collection development isn’t just a way to buy books. It’s an important aspect of a reference librarian’s job. I wasn’t surprised to learn that they have a collection development policy that is kept up to date and is in the process of being updated this year to include something about format. Apparently there’s equal parts of those who want e-textbooks and those who don’t.

It’s so exciting to know that I’m part of a time that could easily be one of the biggest evolution to what a library is.

Leave a Reply

