Book Review 007

The alternative cover, for the UK edition

Image via Wikipedia

Book: The Alchemyst: Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel

Author: Michael Scott

Summary: The Alchemyst starts off on a regular summer day for twins Sophie and Josh but quickly turns into a nightmare after they witness Josh’s boss’ attacked and the wife kidnapped. Soon Sophie and Josh find themselves in a world they’ve only learned about in legends and myths. They are confronted with the truth that Josh’s boss Nicholas Fleming is really Nicholas Flamel a several hundred year old Alchemyst who needs them in order to save not only his equally old wife but all of humanity. With the help of an even older Warrior Princess the group sets out on an adventure of a life time. Nothing is as it seems and even legend has a kernel of truth buried deep down inside. 

My Thoughts: This series is one that was on my to pick up list from the library for the longest time. I hadn’t read anything from this author nor had I seen any reviews for the books. But I knew I wanted to read it. So every time I’d go to the library I’ll look for it, but the first book would always be checked out. I guess that’s a good sign, just irritating for me. I came across the book at a used bookstore and since I had some credit I picked it up. I was not let down as soon as I read the first chapter I knew I was going to like this book. The characters Josh and Sophie are teenagers but they aren’t the angst ridden teens of most modern-day literature. While their lives are relatively normal at the beginning of the book they still have an air of adulthood about them, given they’ve had to practically raise themselves. The plot moves at a steady pace, and the action scenes aren’t piled in one after the other. The writer does a great job weaving legend and mythology into a modern scene and engaging the reader to learn more about the entities the group encounters. While it’s a fantastical story it’s written in such a way that it feels as if you are reading Nicholas Flamel’s person diaries of events that truly happened. 

Now I’m on the search for book two. I wonder how far I can make it before the next installment of the series comes out in May 2011.

Leave a Reply

