Practicum Day 13 and 14: Library Instruction

Library Instruction Room

Image by bulibraries via Flickr

This week was the start of the second half of the semester for my site. Which meant new set of Library Instruction classes. I had spent the first half observing a new librarian but this half I was partnering up with a veteran. We started a couple weeks back by going over the syllabus and emailing the students with the notice if they were going to stay then please stay and if not then go ahead and drop so those who really need the credit hour can join. In the end we had 15 students. I ended up picking three classes I wanted to teach myself and we were set for Tuesday. Well Tuesday came and two students didn’t show up and one student show up thinking she would just be added to the class without asking the professor ahead of time. Even though it was okay the librarian made her worried because he wanted her to learn an important lesson. The first class consisted of introductions and then we had them do a find it activity in the library. They were already split into groups and they had to find a specific department and ask some questions. They had about 15 minutes to do this then they had to come back to class and prepare a Powerpoint to share with the class. (My site gives their freshman laptop as part of their tuition). The presentations were actually pretty funny given they had only 10 minutes to put it together.

Thursday found ourselves with a good amount of adds and drops but some how it managed to equal out again. We did some questions using the clickers to introduce research planning. The students seemed to enjoy the clickers as they aren’t very talkative, however we introduced some candy in the mix and that got them going. I think they were just hungry, we have the noon class…their minds are already on lunch when they come in. Next week we’ll be talking about actual research and finding sources. I added a fourth class that I will be teaching as the librarian I’m working with found out he will be out of town. So in total I will be teaching a class on Zotero, Databases, Journals, and Citations. Thursday I also observed my supervisor teach another BI (not to be confused with Bald Iguanas) class as well as her Library Instruction course. Her format is different from the one we’re employing as we are working with groups and she is allowing them to work individually. Plus the topics are different.

Next week I’ll start packing in a lot the two days I’m there. I’ll be continuing my hours on the reference desk (which is getting busier every day), then I’ll have my class, starting a new round of one on one meetings with all the staffs and then working 2 hours in archives. I couldn’t be more excited about it.

I’m enjoying working with on this class with the particular librarian as he’s so fun and excited about it. I’ve learned a lot in the last couple of weeks from him, for instance figuring out how to do a time line for an instruction course surrounded around a research project. Also preparing for a BI class, emphasizing the point is that the students know we are there to help. I’ve even had a couple of them come to the desk and ask for help on other projects and papers.C

Leave a Reply

