HPU Learning Commons

I can’t believe that it’s been over three months since I matriculated from Library School with my Masters. I actually have to remind myself that’s only been three months and not three years. I know I haven’t really been faithful in updating this blog but so much has happen in those three months I just haven’t had the energy to think about witty posts. Not to say my earlier posts were all that witty…but in my head they kind of were.

But you know what I’ve already moved away from the point of this post. The point was to speak about the new gig I have started. Starting this fall (I actually I started this week) I’ll be serving as one of the Weekend Supervisor’s at High Point University‘s Learning Commons. I’m really excited to be joining the HPU staff. I’ll be serving as a Reference Librarian mostly with special projects that I get to spearhead and plan.

This week I attended a training session and even though I’ve worked in libraries for close to a decade now (OMG I’m feeling old) it’s one thing to be a student worker/intern to becoming a staff member.

Now I have to honest it’s a part-time gig and it’s for a 24/7 library/learning commons. So I will mostly be working nights and weekends, but I’m finding that many universities are adopting this model and it’s professional (MLIS was required) so don’t get me wrong I’m grateful for this opportunity, I’m excited and can’t wait for the school semester to start. But full-time work in the field is the ultimate goal, so I’m rolling with the waves and plan on making the most out of a wonderful opportunity.

Leave a Reply

