Cultural Diversity Committee

Last week I sat in my first committee meeting. It’s kind of weird to say I’m on a committee.  I’ve been apart of things within groups but I can honestly say I’ve never been on a committee. And it’s a great committee to be on, Cultural Diversity. Although it should come to no surprise that it’s the first committee I chose to get involved with. The aim of the committee is to increase cultural diversity within our community inside the library and outside, for the public as well as the staff of the library.

Right now it’s a small committee relative to the importance, at least I think, of the committee. I see great things that could come of such a committee. And you know what’s true for any committee, group, or special interest the more you do the more people start to pay attention to you. It’s just simple logic. I guess I’m just one of those people who likes to shake things up now and then, especially when I’m passionate about something. But at the same time I know I’m just coming in and the last thing I want to do is step on toes. To all my librarians to be and any person who has yet to work in a professional environment, politics plays a major role in how things work in any company or business (even if it’s not related to politics…human nature?). My best advice to you would be to sit back and observe, never rush in.

Through the time in grad school and working with other scholars there were a lot of opportunities to experience cultural diversity that I would love to share with other people. And I know a lot of my ex-scholars are doing great work in diversity. Plus my hometown and surrounding area is getting more and more diverse that you can’t help but to get excited about a chance to share that with people.

We’ve got great plans for the upcoming year and I joined right when they are planning the Staff Thanksgiving Potluck Luncheon, so now I have to think of a great dish because you know they will be looking at the new faces and evaluating us on such an important task.

Leave a Reply

