Money Smart Week® @ your library

Since sometime in November I have been working on what seems to be the biggest project I’ve been assigned so far. Money Smart Week® @ your library…I had never heard of it before either so don’t feel bad if you are reading this with some confusion. It’s alright.

Money Smart Week® is a week in April (it seems to change from year to year, this year it is 4/21-4/28) that was started in 2002 by the Chicago Federal Reserve, aimed to promote personal financial literacy. In 2011 (just amazed that it’s 2012 already), ALA and the Chicago Federal Reserved decided to team up and start Money Smart Week @ your library. Their goal is to use the library to connect with businesses and agencies to help their communities learn more about personal finance.

I have to admit I was somewhat thrown in the deep end with this and I’m not really sure how I feel about that. Since November I’ve been steadily trying to garner contacts in the financial community, testing the water to see if there is any interest in individuals donating their time to offer up unbiased information. Surprisingly I’ve gotten great feedback and people are eager to come in and help with this mission. How great is that?

So far I’ve scheduled 2 individuals for two separate programs and one company for a series of programs throughout the month of April. I’ve got two more potential companies to schedule a program for and then meet with the Adult Services Committee to see if anyone would be willing to host these programs at their library doing the month of April.  Then the next step is figuring out how to get some companies to donate some refreshments, it would be great to get some healthy refreshments even light lunch items. Then I can start the marketing blitz. The goal is to start mid-Feb. with web news, facebook, posters, flyers, postcards, bookmarks, the whole nine yards. I’m working hard to bring some good information to the community, it’s only fitting they should know about it.

Leave a Reply

