Six Months In

This post is almost a month late but that seems to be my style lately. At any rate March 19th marked my six months in this position. And it’s been rife with learning and development for me at least. I’ve had a lot of ups and downs these six months. Some days I question myself on my ability as I’m sure many people do especially when you have a trying day with complicated costumers back to back. And then there are days when I’m on a constant high from the gratitude costumers show for my help.

The other day I read through my First Week post and kind of marveled at how little I had to do during that first week. I think for many of those days I spent a great amount of time on the service desk. Now I feel like I’m constantly on the go. This month along I have eight programs happening and 3 times that many that I’ve helped organized and plan. We’ve also started a cross training in the hopes of creating a better team atmosphere between the departments. Working in the main library is different from the branches as there are several departments that feel like their own mini library. So there are days when I don’t really see other people in other departments which sometimes makes me feel like I’m in a little bubble. I think it’s a great way to share with others what their department does every day and vice versa.   

In general I’m more confident in my role as a reference librarian. I’m still learning about sources, which is a tricky thing. There is always more than one way to get the information and even still there are times when the information isn’t available. Which I think people have a hard time believing that. I have developed a working knowledge of regulars and they of me. And during these six months I’ve been able to speak to at least 3 different people thinking about going into the field. Which has been great to share my take on the field and pass on my small cache of knowledge.

It’s been a whirlwind six months and I can’t wait to see what the next six months have in store.

Leave a Reply

