Book Review 011

Book:Amulet: The Last Council

Author: Kazu Kibuishi

Summary: In book four, our gang has finally made it to Ceilis and think they can finally find the help they need, but things aren’t always what they seem. A town that was once filled with bustling crowds is now empty and tinged with the feeling of fear. Emily and her family are soon separated from the rest of the gang, and then Emily is separated from her family. Because she is a stonekeeper she is forced to compete for a spot among the council itself. Soon she comes to realize that she is but a pawn in someone else web of deceit and a danger that is best left buried will come to light.

My Thoughts: I feel like a broken record when I do a review for Kibuishi’s Amulet series…but his artwork is just that good and it gets better with each book. While I meant to do this review a while back I can remember the story as if I read it yesterday. In my last review I noted that the third book was nothing but foreshadowing which worried me about the series being overly dependent on each book in relationship to the other books. I’m glad to report that book 4 finally gave you some “meat and potatoes” once again. Something to really sink your teeth into the story and have you waiting for book five to come out.

And as a side I just recently found out that Warner Brothers’ is set to make a movie based on this series to come out this year. Not sure how I feel about that…rarely does the movie live up to the book. And the imagery would have to be out of this world to do the story any justice, just saying.

Other reviews in this series: Book One, Book Two, Book Three

Click image to download this image as a desktop. Courtesy of Multiversity Comics.

Leave a Reply

